Sign0ff

recycle&signoff

greatest ux storry yet!

O intamplare interesanta intamplata intre o “moz dev”-a si un domn Joe 60 de ani fara nici o cunostinta in ale computerelor..

urmariti povestea, e genial cat de diferita este experienta utilizatorilorfata de ce ar trebui sa fie nativ si natural.

(…)

I decide to first expose Joe to the three major browsers. I begin by pulling up Internet Explorer.

Internet Explorer (as Joe encountered it)

Me: “Joe, let’s pretend you’ve sat down at this computer, and your goal is finding a local restaurant to eat at.”

Joe: “But I don’t know what to do.”

Me: “I know, but I want you to approach this computer like you approach a city you’re not familiar with. I want you to investigate and look around try and figure out how it works. And I want you to talk out loud about what you’re thinking and what you’re trying.”

(I show Joe how to use a mouse. He looks skeptical, but takes it in his hand and stares at the screen.)

Joe: “I don’t know what anything means.”

(Joe reads the text on IE and clicks on “Suggested Sites”)

Me: “Why did you click on that?”

Joe: “I don’t really know what to do, so I thought this would suggest something to me.”

(Joe reads a notification that there are no suggestions because the current site is private)

Joe: “I guess not.”

(…)

more here

No comments yet»

Leave a comment